Multiple hard wallets

I am BRAND NEW at this! I was thinking of holding my BTC on separate hard wallets. In other words, I plan to put about 25% on 4 separate hard wallets. (Three are Trezor; I have another of a different brand.) My thought was it made sense not to put all my eggs in one basket. Now that I have started putting BTC on my Trezor Safe 3 (I have three of this type hard wallet), I am wondering if this is a good idea or making things unnecessarily complicated. FEEDBACK welcome! Especially if you think this is dumb…but please tell me why so I can learn! THANKS A MILLION

It is possible to put all your eggs in one basket, under certain conditions. 1. The seed phrase must be generated only inside the hardware wallet (the device must not be fake or compromised with other firmware). 2. The seed phrase should never be entered into a software or web wallet. 3. For better security and your “peace of mind”, the Seed phrase of the BIP-39 standard must contain the 25th word as a passphrase. 4. If you are using Trezor Suite and need to enter the passphrase manually, then it is best to have a separate MacBook for this, because under Windows there is a higher chance of your passphrase being intercepted and who knows what else. 5. For long-term storage of Bitcoin, I recommend the Trezor device (Ledger I can only recommend if you need hardware support for other native blockchains, for example: Tron, Toncoin, Polkadot, etc., but I would advise using a different Seed phrase, generated on the Ledger wallet, which will not be used for the main storage of Bitcoin for the long term “HODL/HOLD”. There are some reasons why you should not trust the Ledger device 100% under certain conditions.

1 Like

you could just use 1 trezor device, so 1 main seed phrase.
Then have 3/4 different passphrases, 1 for each separate wallet.

You just want to be careful managing all these seed phrases / passphrases etc.